Thursday, April 17, 2014
Text Size

Hall of Fame

The Air Commando Hall of Fame Committee met on 6 August 2013 to consider your overwhelming response to this year’s request for nominations. We have received a total of 16 nominations for considerations which is fairly consistent with the number in previous year’s submissions, however the big difference is the dramatic increase in the overall quality of the nominations and the higher levels of performance and significant contributions by the nominee’s to special operations. This posed a real challenge to your HoF Committee in selecting the top 5 of 16 nominations for consideration. With the Board of Directors imposed limit of 5 Hall of Fame selectee’s per year, the committee is obliged to return 11 nominations to the originator with a letter of explanation for their candidate’s non-selection. It’s very important for those who have returned nominations (many very close to the top 5), not to attach any level of stigma to this action, but to review and add to the nomination if necessary and resubmit for the next year’s selection process. The committee members are Lt Gen (Ret) Mike Wooley, Chairman; Col (Ret) Jim Ifland, Secretary; Col (Ret) Dave Mobley; Lt Col (Ret) John Connors; CMSAF (Ret) Jim Binnicker; CMSGT (Ret) Lamar Doster and CMSGT (Ret) Wayne Norrad. Both Gen Wooley and CMSAF Binnicker were out of town for the meeting, but had provided their inputs of their evaluations to the secretary. The results of the HoF committee’s deliberations were presented to the ACA Board of Directors for their concurrence and approval. The nominations that were approved are as follows:

• Col (Ret) Joseph D. Becker
• Lt Gen (Ret) Frank J. Kisner
• Col (Ret) Ronald W. Terry
• Col (Ret) Gary L. Weikel
• CMSgt (Ret) Atwell L. Wiley (Deceased)

The ACA Board of Directors decision to hold the Hall of Fame committee meeting in August has proven to be a success. The early selection process allows us to get the results in the August newsletter that reaches all members prior the reunion. In addition, this provides those selected that live outside the local area the opportunity to make their travel plans and take advantage of cheaper airfares available than making last minute bookings. But most importantly, it provides an opportunity for our members to meet and greet the newly selected Hall of Fame members during the reunion and to thank them for their outstanding contributions to Air Force Special Operations. After more then 13 years as secretary to the HoF Committee, Jim Ifland is retiring from the committee and will be replaced by Dave Mobley as the new secretary. Col (Ret) Jim Connors has volunteered to fill the vacancy on the committee.

We encourage everyone to review the criteria and procedures and send in your nomination for 2014. All submissions must be received by 31 July 2014 in order to be considered for the 2014 selection process.

To view a full list of all Air Commando Hall of Fame inductees, please click here.

Welcome to the ACAOnline

The Air Commando Association is dedicated to continuing growth, strength, and support of American Special Operation forces through education, charity, research, and historical preservation. It is our Honor ensuring that American military forces continue to have the Special Operations capability required to implement U.S. strategies.

Association membership includes active duty, reserve, retired, and separated military personnel, both officer and enlisted, as well as civilian and industrial supporters who are and/or were assigned to, attached to, or served with or supported, any Air Commando/Special Operations Unit.

Contact Information

Air Commando Association
P.O. Box 7
Mary Esther, FL 32569-0007

Phone: 850-581-0099
Fax: 850-581-8988
Email:  Click here